Latest Lists

Spammed "Please confirm your request to join" group... please read all?

I've seen 3 other questions asked about this... and obviously I didn't request to join any of these supposed adult groups, like KinkyAdultCamGroup. I am wondering if at least the e-mail is genuine, as in did it actually come from Yahoo! groups? It's obvious that the cause of it coming from Yahoo! is some kind of spam identity theft shindig, but I'm wondering if this is how yahoo! would send such a confirmation. The first thing is the sender's email - it's confirm-s2-vw5dvdithixzq5fhqshjrvzkuwi0btim-elecbass100=yahoo.com@yahoogroups.com - that's just one example. Genuine? I would paste the text of the e-mail, but I don't want it to be too long. I didn't want to add yahoo! groups to the spam list either. I did notice in another question that someone claimed they got this spam anytime they played the yahoo! game literati. Well, I just played yahoo! graffiti this morning and lo and behold, I got this e-mail apparently moments after I started playing. So what's that about... And now that I think about it, I think I did start getting these e-mails when I resumed playing yahoo! graffiti in past few weeks. So summary - two questions: 1. Are these e-mails genuinely coming from yahoo! groups, irrespective of the genuineness of the cause? 2. What's going on with playing the yahoo! games and subsequently having these group confirmations spammed? Thanks for useful info! Please no spam/info I know already, and please read this description before answering. Talking about whether it's the actual legitimate body of the usual email and sender's email address. confirm-s2-vw5dvdithixzq5fhqshjrvzkuwi0b tim-elecbass100=yahoo.com @yahoogroups.com The mail subject doesn't say "Yahoo! Groups: etc etc" it just says "Please confirm your request to join KinkyAdultCamGroup." Furthermore, there is no Yahoo! purple icon in the i column (sort emails by read or unread)

Public Comments

  1. *** this question is asked alot, and many times it's a smut type group that's doing this. The mail header is where to look to see if it's bogus or not, but what you describe is the auto send. This is Yahoo's manner to let users know their e-mail address was added, and their way to track that abuse. You can send the abuse form along with the mail header, and let Yahoo sort it out. If it is a smut group, to see if it's a real group you need to be in the adult area of the directory to search it, and most if not all of these smut adding e-mail groups are public, so I'd bet you'd find it. If you do, then you know it's a real (not bogus) auto send. good luck it's an auto send due to a group owner trying to add your e-mail address to their group. this is more a notice to let you know. anytime you expose your e-mail address, group owners will spam you which by the way, is against Yahoo TOS so along with the below is the abuse form. include the mail header and that group will be deleted. How can I prevent moderators from adding me to their groups or sending me invitations? http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/groups/original/members/email/email-44.html?terms=prevent+adds abuse form http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/groups/original/members/forms/abuse.html;_ylt=AhXX.KHPMNkKINl0AVTzUFsACXdG?from_url=http%3A%2F%2Fhelp.yahoo.com%2Fl%2Fus%2Fyahoo%2Fgroups%2Foriginal%2Fmembers%2Findex.html
  2. Street canvas and graffiti: http://www.ZELEBRITY.it http://www.myspace.com/zelebrity133
Powered by Yahoo! Answers