Latest Lists

tracking spammers sites.. 'name server'?

im confused on tracking a spammers domain.. ive been getting about 5 spam emails a day from these mortgage sites, and i ran a whois on jakel0an8.com, and got this: http://whois.domaintools.com/jakel0an8.com now im confused.. the visionnsa.com address is an american server for an mortgage institution.. so obviously the sites are connected, but how exactly are they connected? is the 'name server' the server that the jake.. is buying space from? The american business is listed in the bbb.org http://www.scranton.bbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=10020135 right, i know the email they sent it from is fake, but im tracking the actual site they sent me.

Public Comments

  1. Spammers don't use 'sites' to send out emails. They spoof the "from" fields of the emails by using an open proxy to send their spam from. The domain is real, but the owner of the domain (and possibly their ISP) aren't aware that their servers are being used like this. To find out more, and how to combat it, go here - http://abuse.net/
Powered by Yahoo! Answers